City, County, State Hopefuls Meet Filing Deadline For Election

Those wanting to serve on Buffalo's City Council or the Johnson County Commission had until 5pm Friday, May 27th to file their paperwork declaring themselves in the running for the primary election in August.

For the one seat available on the county commission, currently held by Jim Hicks, four people have stepped up to run.
Rick Pallister, John Zorbas, Bob Perry, and Dave Loden have all filed to run for that seat.

For Buffalo City Council, there are two seats up for grabs in this year's election. The two are currently held by Bill Hawley and Dave Long.
Five individuals have filed to run for those seats and include
Travis Lawrence, Erin Casey, Scott Madsen, Logan Nimick and Spencer Sanders.

In the races for state seats, State Senator Dave Kinskey (R-Sheridan), will run unopposed on the Republican ballot to represent Senate District 22.

State Representative Mike Madden will run against Alfred Weeden (R-Buffalo) and Greg Haas (D-Buffalo) to represent House District 40.