College Announces Awards Nominees

College trustee Bruce Hoffman of Sheridan will be among those nominated for awards when the Wyoming Association of Community Colleges Trustees meets in February.

Sheridan College President Paul Young announced local nominees for awards at the Northern Wyoming Community College District board meeting Thursday night. Hoffman has been nominated for the community college association's Trustee Leadership Award.

Others nominated for awards from Sheridan College are, by category: Monica Leonard-Walsh, classified employee of the year; Robin West, faculty member of the year; and Cindy Shoop, Foundation Volunteer of the Year. Two people from the Gillette campus have also been nominated for community college association awards. Diego Zepeda is nominee for student of the year, and Susan Serge has been nominated for professional employee of the year. The Northern Wyoming College District includes Sheridan College and its Gillette and Johnson County campuses.

The state association meets on Feb. 20, the same day that the local college board meet was set. In separate action at the meeting Thursday, trustees voted to change their meeting date to Feb. 27.