Sheridan Honored by National Trust for Historic Preservation

Sheridan Mayor Dave Kinskey and Sheridan Travel & Tourism Board President Judy Taylor receive the National Trust for Historic Preservation plaque from Jennifer Buddenborg.

Last week we teased you with a hint that Sheridan Travel & Tourism would be announcing another significant honor, and this morning at a media conference at the Sheridan City Hall Council Chambers, the secret was made public. Sheridan Media's Mary Jo Johnson has more.

2011 marks the twelfth announcement of the National Trust for Historic Preservation's Dozen Distinctive Destinations annual list, and this year, Sheridan Wyoming is on it. Jennifer Buddenborg is the Program Officer of the Mountains / Plains Office of the NTHP. She said that to date, there are 144 Distinctive Destinations located in 47 states throughout the country.

This is the first year that any city in Wyoming has been chosen. She said factors in determining the designation were based upon dynamic downtowns, cultural diversity, attractive architecture, cultural landscapes and a strong commitment to historic preservation and revitalization.

Jennifer presented a plaque to President of the Sheridan Travel & Tourism Board, Judy Taylor and Sheridan Mayor Dave Kinskey. The mayor told the audience.

A glowing Penny Becker, Director of Sheridan Travel & Tourism, reminds the community of the public celebration to be held Friday, February 18th from 4 to 7 pm at the Historic Sheridan Inn, and issues this request to the community.

The other eleven Distinctive Destinations: Alexandria, Virginia; Chapel Hill, North Carolina; Colorado Springs, Colorado; Dandridge, Tennessee; Eureka, California; Muskegee, Oklahoma; New Bedford, Massachusetts; Paducah, Kentucky; St. Paul, Minnesota; San Angelo, Texas; and Sonoma, California.

Again, anyone over the age of 18 can vote once a day every day until March 15th.

We have provided the links to vote for Sheridan below: