SJHS Teacher Named Wyo. Teacher of Year

Wyoming Teacher of the Year Ryan Fuhrman, left, is introduced by School District 2 Superintendent Craig Dougherty. (Photo by Pat Blair)

Ryan Fuhrman, a seventh grade teacher at Sheridan Junior High School, has been named the Wyoming Teacher of the Year.

The award was presented Friday morning in a special assembly at the junior high school. Craig Dougherty, superintendent of Sheridan County School Distrtict 2, said Fuhrman exemplifies teachers in the district, who are not only the best in the state but the best in the nation.

Wyoming State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jillian Balow was unable to attend the assembly, but she sent a message congratulating Fuhrman and District 2. Dougherty said the process for choosing a teacher of the year starts with nominations of teachers by individual buildings in the school district, then a committee selects a teacher of the year for the district. Those nominees then are sent to the state for final selection.

Sheridan Media will have more details in a later story.

View another photo below.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jillian Balow speaks in on-screen appearance. (Photo by Pat Blair)