A Sheridan High School Senior wins the "Millward Simpson' Award

Austin Woodward 2010 "MillwardSimpson" Award Winner

SIMPSON AWARDS - Sheridan high school senior Austin Woodward became the 5th student from Sheridan high school to win the annual “Millward Simpson” award Saturday night in Casper.

The Simpson award goes to the top high school male and female athlete of the year for the state of Wyoming. Woodward added this honor to a long list he received for his efforts this past school year. he was named All-state in football and basketball, was named the Wyoming Gatorade football player of the year and to the state's Super 25 football team.

He was also named to the Shrine bowl football team taking the North squad on the game winning drive as they beat the South 27-26 three weeks ago.

He also was named to both the Wyoming All-star basketball teams that played South Dakota and Montana this spring. Earlier this spring he also received the Wyoming chapter scholarship award from the National football foundation as the Wyoming player of the year.

Woodward is currently working out with the Sheridan Bronc football team during their off season training program as he prepares to start football at the University of Wyoming in August.

Five former Sheridan county high school students have been awarded the “Millward Simpson” award. Sheridan Bronc's Blaine Phillips in 1992 and Jeff Martini in 2000.

Two former Lady Broncs have won the award Mila Rogers Stender in 1982 and Becky Kopsa in 1992 and Big Horn Lady Ram Katie Cox won the award in 2002.

TROOPER BASEBALL - The Sheridan Troopers have a conference double header at home tomorrow night against the Casper Oilers. They've seen the Oilers several times already this season Head coach Ben Phillips says they know exactly what to expect from the Oilers tomorrow.

The first game of the double header is schedule to start at 5:00.

BIG HORN POLO - The Big Horn Polo club held the “Paul Nicholson” Memorial Cup yesterday the Big Horn Equestiran center. The “Sheridan Express” team defeated “Perks Horspital” in overtime to take the top prize.

The match was tied at 4-4 at the end of regulation with the “Express” winning the match 3-2 in overtime. The winning team included Paul Wollenman who was also named the match's MVP, Orrin Connell, Bob Brotherton and Drew Luplow.

This week they will play two matches on Saturday the “Moncreiffe” Cup will be played at 1:00 and the “D.A.Davidson”Cup will be played at 3:00.

MLB - The Colorado Rockies lost 10-3 at the LA Angels yesterday losing two out of three in the Inter-league series. They get back into Western division play tonight when they open a three games series at the San Diego Padres.